Update Page

Update Page

UPDATE 34: January 4th, 2017
With a New Year and a far more flexible schedule, I'll be getting back into this after half a year of inactivity. I've gotten a lot of albums and filled in certain gaps in my music collection so I've struggled to keep all of this organized, which prevented me from re-reading and correcting the artists' pages. As you may have noticed, the pages have since been disabled from the main page, and they'll remain that way until I can clean them up.

Throughout most of my six-month interim, I've been considering restructuring when and how I'll be doing my reviews, from completing the started artists in weekly updates rather than daily reviews, to alternating between the previously used chronological order with unrelated artists. Ultimately, I've decided to continue using the chronological order, Mondays through Fridays, and hopefully I can use the weekends to update old reviews and eventually the artist pages.

Reviews begin the upcoming Monday, January 9th, so stay tuned...

UPDATE 33: May 22nd, 2016
Page revised
· The Band

Well I'm back. With school coming to a close in the past month and a half, reviewing was far from a priority, but I expect to stay on track from here on out. I'm continuing to re-read my old reviews for mistakes and fixing the posts and pages, so hopefully more of these "revised page" updates will be completed in the next few months or so and I can remove the "under construction" notice.

UPDATE 32: February 12thth, 2016
New page created
· The Animals

Also, I've slightly changed the weekly schedule. Rather than posting reviews Monday through Friday, I'll be posting Tuesday through Thursday and the Weekend (Saturday and Sunday, that is), so same amount of days a week, but rather than two days in a row to catch up on possible delays, there will be mini breaks within a week to do so instead (and besides, I was less likely to write a review on a Saturday or Sunday anyways).

UPDATE 31: January 12th, 2016
A number of things

I've decided to re-upload the reviews I made in late 2014 on the latest reviews page that have been in the Odds & Sods page since April 2015, for no particular reason, other than the fact that I plan on publishing new Odds & Sods reviews starting in February. Also, as you may have noticed since August, I've been scrambling to publish reviews on time, and by the start of the Christmas holidays I was well over a month behind. With me constantly wracking my brain to find something to say, I've decided to take a break for a little while from reviewing, until the Odds & Sods in February, then I'll get back to where I was in the chronological order. I'll also be adding new Odds & Sods reviews every ten weeks afterwards, so that, when the main chronology starts to make me go insane, I have some other music to clear my head a bit. I have reviews scheduled up until the end of May, then I'll see about summer work/vacation and how that'll conflict with reviewing. I'll let you all know in an update sometime in May. Also, as you may have noticed, I've been making changes to reviews where the year isn't in the post title but in the post itself, and rather than directly linking the reviews to their pages, there's a "continue reading" button that leads to a full review, at the end of which you can find a link to the artist's reviewed catalogue up to that point. Obviously, I'm a bit behind on that, and a bunch of links don't work, but hopefully the three weeks break from reviewing will help me complete this.

UPDATE 30: August 6th, 2015
Page revised
· Stevie Wonder

So finally I've decided that Stevie will be a four-star artist. Like I wrote in the intro, though, there's a chance he could be upgraded in the coming years.

UPDATE 29: August 3rd, 2015
Page revised
· Bob Dylan

I'm trying to get back into this full time again. I'm slowly going to correct the pages while writing new reviews, including ones about the artists in general, the introductions of their pages, some of which I've revised/will revise completely and will post/repost in the coming months.

UPDATE 28: July 10th, 2015
New additions to the current itinerary (see update 9)

Having looked at the 30 artists that were already there, the amount of 4-star/class B artists seemed a bit... excessive?... so I added another twenty, most of which are 3-star/class C, and there may even be one or two 2-star/class D artists (I'm a bit unsure about these ones for now). Since some of these 20 artists albums predate the last reviewed album, I'll be starting from the earliest chronological release of these new 20 until I've caught up, before going with the full chronology as before. Of course, this might not be for a couple of weeks...

UPDATE 27: June 23th, 2015
New page created
· Some Sites Like Mine

I actually made this page replacing one of the side gadgets a long time ago, but I never got around to publishing it. Other than that, you might have noticed I haven't done much in a while. I started my summer job which kind of conflicts with album listening time, but I think I've found the solution, which you'll all find out about soon enough.

UPDATE 26: June 10th, 2015
New page created
· Genesis

I was actually tempted to not show the artist rating for these guys yet, in case I ever decided they should be a five-star band, but I think a strong four works just as well.

UPDATE 25: June 7th, 2015
New page created
· Led Zeppelin

Am I the only one that finds it amusing that my Zeppelin page is the first one after my Who page?

UPDATE 24: June 1st, 2015
New page created
· The Who

Well, that's the last of them... at least, of those currently reviewed. As you might have noticed from a review of the Beatles' White Album, I'm getting back into this after like... three weeks? Anyways, I'm going back to the tried-and-true chronological schedule (reviews of albums from 1969 and 1970 that I've done in the interim will be omitted, since I have no need to rewrite them).

UPDATE 23: May 30th, 2015
New page created
· John Lennon

I know none of the reviews currently written reflect John's best work (they're all rated bad or worse), but I'm still very aware of what he was capable of, so the artist rating I've put reflects that (there's no point in pretending to surprise anyone with a preference for his early '70s albums).

UPDATE 22: May 29th, 2015
New pages created
· Jimi Hendrix
· The Moody Blues

Maybe I should include the line-up of the Jimi Hendrix Experience to Jimi's page... but then I'd feel obliged to include the members of Band of Gypsys, and the band that backed him at Woodstock. Next thing you know, we'll have a line-up section that looks like Jethro Tull's.

UPDATE 21: May 25th, 2015
New page created
· The Doors

I must like the Doors' first two albums more than I thought: look at all the songs I consider highlights on their respective LPs!

UPDATE 20: May 23rd, 2015
New page created
· Frank Zappa

Some of the tracks in red (album highlights) might seem random. They probably are. You can never tell with Zappa what will make you click.

UPDATE 19: May 22nd, 2015
New pages created
· Jethro Tull
· Pink Floyd

That damn Jethro Tull line-up section took me forever to make... I probably shouldn't have bothered with every member they ever had, though.

UPDATE 18: May 21st, 2015
New page created
· The Byrds

I also added the line-ups to the last three album pages, which I forgot to do.

UPDATE 17: May 20th, 2015
New pages created
· Creedence Clearwater Revival
· Deep Purple

Looking for images of these bands, I noticed Purple's Ian Paice doesn't strike me as very drummer looking... there's one picture where he looks a dietarily more healthy version of Yes' Steve Howe. On the other hand, with sunglasses he looks like a Ramone. Weird how he can resemble a progster and a punk...

UPDATE 16: May 18th, 2015
New page created
· The Band

I know I've only done one of their albums, but there's only one other that holds as high a reputation, and while I don't want to spoil the eventual review for it, it won't get a 15 to change my mind about them being a Class B artist.

UPDATE 15: May 14th, 2015
New page created
· The Kinks

For the next while, I'm going to be making pages for the artists already reviewed, so it will be easier to add newer reviews to said pages; I'm only starting with the Kinks because it was semi-ready when I gave up the chronological thing...

UPDATE 14: May 2nd, 2015
New page created
· Cream

You know, it's funny – not haha funny, but something – that this is probably the most complete of all of my pages... It's the only one where I've run out of regular releases and have just the archival ones to deal with, at the very least.

UPDATE 13: April 26th, 2015
New page created
· The Rolling Stones

I was going to wait until I got to their early '70s albums and wrote an intro, but I can always add those later. Besides, there's a 15-rated record that allows me to place them in the Class A artist rating category.

UPDATE 12: April 24th, 2015
Change of schedule

As you may have noticed, I haven't published much this week; it seems I've had a bout of writer's block, something that actually struck me last week (I try to write reviews a week ahead) and that I've had difficulty overcoming, bar the last review I wrote before my writer's block – of Frank Zappa's Cruising With Ruben & the Jets – that I posted yesterday, and rough drafts in the last two days. A part of the problem, other than some difficulty hearing when I wasn't listening to music that got me worried, is that I felt a bit restrained by the whole "five days a week, in chronological order" scheduling system I imposed on myself. Instead, I'm just going to write reviews of albums within the 30 artists in the itinerary (including some that I hadn't gotten to) as it seems most natural, in large chunks artist by artist. I'll try to be consistent with my previous system by having at least three reviews a week, but they can be published at any time in the week... and more than once in a week. Of course, unlike other times where I got fed up with a certain schedule (I lasted a hell of a lot longer this time), I won't be getting rid of the current reviews up here. That would be silly.

UPDATE 11: April 19th, 2015
New page created
· Odds & Sods

To clean up the main page, all of the Odds & Sods reviews (written at the beginning of my late 2014 "revival") are on this page (split in two due to the large volumes).

UPDATE 10: April 3rd, 2015
Reviews added to existing pages
· The Beach Boys' regular studio albums 1967-1968 (up until Friends)
· Bob Dylan's John Wesley Harding
· Stevie Wonder albums from 1967
Previously removed dynamic posts of those artists' (plus the Beatles') reviews restored

I've had a few reviews written for these started static pages, but rather than gradually adding them like I just did and announcing, from now on I'll add them right away, while posting a preview (the first few paragraphs or so) on the main "latest reviews" page; likewise, the reviews of these artists that have since been moved to static pages have been restored as this sort of preview. The rule for un-paged artists remains the same, i.e. posts will be full on the main page until a static page (and hopefully an intro) is created.

UPDATE 9: March 29th, 2015
New page created
· Current Itinerary

In case it interests you all, here's a list of the 30 artists I have scheduled to review (which should take the next two years or so).

UPDATE 8: March 22nd, 2015
New page created
· The Beatles (1963-1967)

Quite ironic that I'm publishing my Beatles page the day of my father's birthday (he quite dislikes them and I rate them highly).

UPDATE 7: March 1st, 2015
New page created
· Artist Index

The three artist pages can now be accessed from here. Eventually a page (or pages) for the Odds & Sods reviews will be here as well. The page is somewhat irrelevant considering the minimal amount of artist pages, but it'll grow with time.

UPDATE 6: February 22nd, 2015
New page created
· Stevie Wonder (1962-1966)

There's no intro or artist rating for this page yet, since I haven't even gotten close to Stevie's peak era, and there's no way I can be a 100% sure how I'd rate his best album(s) until I get to them.

UPDATE 5: February 15th, 2015
New page created
· Bob Dylan (1962-1966)

Same concept as the Beach Boys page. And just in case you haven't noticed, the links to these pages are right of the posts section. For now...

UPDATE 4: February 8th, 2015
New page created
· The Beach Boys (1962-1966)

This page houses all of my reviews of the Beach Boys albums from their debut through Pet Sounds, as well as an introductory "essay" on the group. The posts of those reviews are no longer present on the blog section of the site, but can be found on this static page at all times. Newer reviews of the Beach Boys won't be on the static page right away of course; after another few of those have amassed as posts they'll be added.

UPDATE 3: January 18th, 2015
New page created
· Rating System

The purpose of this page is fairly simple; it explains how the rating system here works.

UPDATE 2: January 17th, 2015
New page created
· Update Page

Now you can see about updates without them interrupting the flow of newly posted reviews. You'll see when this page is updated above the actual post section of the main page.

UPDATE 1: January 3rd, 2015
Two new pages created
· Albums by Year
· Albums by Rating

These pages are indexes that sort the albums by year and rating. For now they are lists, but eventually when pages for the artists are created, they will also house links to the album reviews.

Go to the artist index page.
Go to the main page.